Nebraska Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska Selects Local Participant

17 May 2018

The Nebraska Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that Carley Bruning has been selected to participate in Leadership Nebraska Class XI.

Carley has been the Director of Business Services at Phelps County Development Corporation (PCDC) since July 2017. She administers PCDC’s GO! program; administers the high-demand jobs scholarship program; engages with employers to develop programs to recruit, develop and retain talent; assists and encourages local entrepreneurs; and collaborates with other organizations to encourage a vibrant downtown. She oversees PCDC’s Holdrege Young Professionals and Business in Motion groups.

She attended Central Christian College of Kansas, where she played both volleyball and basketball and was a NAIA scholar athlete. Carley graduated with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Sports Management with an emphasis in Mass Communications.

She is currently the Secretary of the Holdrege Area Chamber of Commerce Ambassadors, a member of Phelps/Harlan County CASA Board of Directors, the social media chair of the Rotary Club of Holdrege 1488 and a member of the Board of Directors June 2018. She is a member of the Holdrege Young Professionals and volunteers on the community’s Concrete Solutions Team, a group designed to help keep the communication open between the Nebraska Department of Transportation, businesses, and the community during local road construction projects.

Leadership Nebraska was founded in 2006 to identify current and emerging leaders throughout Nebraska, enhance their leadership skills and deepen their knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing our state. 

Participants are selected from different regions of the state and possess varied backgrounds and diverse talents.  All candidates must have demonstrated an abiding interest in Nebraska and its future. 

The program consists of six sessions covering a broad range of key Nebraska issues including economic development, healthcare, education, agriculture, government and policy development.  Class XI begins with an orientation in June and will end in February 2019 with a commencement ceremony held in Lincoln.  Sessions will be conducted throughout various locations of the state.

Bryan Slone, president of the Nebraska Chamber, said:  “Nebraska faces complex challenges in this new economy.  To maintain and enhance our state’s competitiveness, we need well-informed, connected leaders who are ready to serve their fellow Nebraskans.”

Listed below are the 30 Nebraskans selected to participate in Leadership Nebraska’s Class XI, along with the class member’s employer and city.

Mike Venem, Ariens Company

Renae Jimenez, City of Hastings

Carley Bruning, Phelps County Development Corporation

Angela Davidson, Central Community College
Angela Simdorn, Hornady Manufacturing

Linette Butler, BD Construction Inc.
Sarah Focke, Kearney Visitors Bureau
John Hoggatt, First National Bank of Omaha
Shawn Kaskie, University of Nebraska

Anna Brewer, Nebraska Attorney General’s Office
Elizabeth Everett, First Five Nebraska
Peggy Hain, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Erika Hamilton, Humanities Nebraska
James Mowitz, Pinnacle Bank

Tyler Rigby, Nucor Steel Nebraska

Matthew Burke, First National Bank of Omaha
Anne Hindery, Nonprofit Association of the Midlands
Sara Howard, State of Nebraska
Darin Karstetter, Renaissance Financial
Noah Knisely, CHI Health
Steve Konnath, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska
Joseph Lang, Omaha Public Power District
Marjorie Maas, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska
Sandra Reding, AKSARBEN Foundation
Ryan Sevcik, Koley Jessen P.C.,LLO
Laurie Zagurski, Omaha Public Power District

Nicole West, Black Hills Energy

Leslie Shaver, Simmons Olsen Law Firm, P.C.

Mike Feeken, St. Paul Development Corporation

Carsten Mlady, Nebraska Public Power District